Construction of this building began late 1904 by John Hines for local general merchant TJ Ramsey.
Ramsey had entered into an arrangement at the Bank’s request to provide the new building, which was then leased to the Bank of New South Wales. This arrangement continued until around 1954 upon the branch’s relocation to another specific built building on the corner of Bass and Imlay Streets, which saw it move several blocks closer to the main shopping area of the town.
Much like the Ramsey’s business, the building continued to be owned by the Ramsey family but tenanted out until around 1970 when it was purchased by well known local commercial fisherman, Neil Buckland. Shortly after the purchase, the interior of the building changed significantly, being remodeled to accommodate two flat-style living quarters on the top storey.
The balcony was wrecked in 1926 by a cyclonic wind burst from the disastrous bushfires that saw loss of housing around the Lookout area of Eden. Renovations of an unknown nature were undertaken in 1940. The building continues to be owned and lived in by the family of Mr Buckland.
A two storey brick and render building with a corrugated iron roof, the building originally had a high parapet with decorative urns concealing the roof behind. At some point the parapet was removed and the roof line extended to project beyond the wall.
The Chandos & Imlay Street building is visually iconic and continues to be a reference point for the local community much as it was in earlier days.
Its high aesthetic value is derived from its attractive form and varied use of materials including brick, lace, pickets and window details. It occupies a prominent position in the main street that is enhanced by its corner location. The local newspaper heralded the building as a meeting point for local celebrations such as the activities marking Australia’s 150th Anniversary held on 18 March 1938.